Feed on
Posts
Comments

0

The Cloisters Medieval Museum of Art

The Cloisters: Medieval Museum of Art Designed by Charles Collens, the Cloister’s museum buildings were constructed by merging various medieval styles. The final building was not based on any one particular style but employed elements from five French abbeys that were reassembled into one structure. The Cloisters was opened to the public in 1938 on Manhattan Island in New York City. The building is used by the Metropolitan Museum of Art to house its medieval artwork collection. The museum and park were donated by John D. Rockefeller Jr. who also donated much of his personal medieval art collection to the Cloisters. The museum is comprised of between 3000 – 5000 medieval works of art from Europe dating from the 9th to the 16th centuries. The Cloisters contains approximately 20 rooms, that include: Gothic halls, 3 chapels, a chapter house, cloister gardens, and various galleries. In addition to its beautiful art collection, the Cloisters also contains many other interesting pieces such as earthenware jugs and vases, furniture, jewellery, books of hours, escutcheons, reliquaries, and tapestries. Pieces of Note The Unicorn in Captivity – This famous late 15th century tapestry made of wool warp, silk, silver, and gilt wefts from the French south lowlands depicts a unicorn in captivity. This piece belongs to a late Gothic series of tapestries, known as ‘The Hunt of the Unicorn’. This tapestry is the seventh and final panel in the series. Tabernacle Panel – These colourful
Video Rating: 5 / 5

One Response to “The Cloisters Medieval Museum of Art”

  1. MsShawnPhx says:

    Cool video, but the pronunciation on the narration was a little´╗┐ off on some of the names.

Leave a Reply